Blurry image of a vehicle going through a tunnel at night

I Got a DWI: What Now?

If you’re caught driving under the influence of intoxicants in the state of New York, you could end up with a “driving while intoxicated” (“DWI”) offense.

Read on to learn what to do if you’re faced with a DWI offense in New York.

First Offense

If this is your first DWI offense in the last ten years, you can expect the following:

  • A misdemeanor offense
  • Fines from $500-$1,000
    • If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.18 or higher, you can expect to pay fines from $1,000-$2,500
  • You may be jailed for up to a year
  • You may have your driver’s license revoked for a minimum of six months
    • If your BAC is 0.18 or higher, you can expect to have your driver’s license revoked for a minimum of one year
  • You may be eligible for conditional driving privileges under New York State’s Impaired Driver Program
  • You may be able to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle for no less than six months after your license is reinstated
  • You may need to enroll in and go to a victims impact program

Second Offense

If this is your second DWI offense in the last ten years, you can expect the following:

  • A Class E Felony offense
  • Fines from $1,000-$5,000
  • You may be jailed for five days up to four years
    • Or you may complete 30 days of community service in lieu of jail time
  • You may have your driver’s license revoked for a minimum of one year
    • If your BAC is 0.18 or higher, you can expect to have your driver’s license revoked for 18 months
  • You may be able to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle for no less than six months after your license is reinstated
  • You’ll be required to endure alcohol or substance abuse assessments and treatments
  • You may need to attend a victims impact program

If you find yourself with a DWI offense, our attorneys at Foley Griffin are here to help. We are highly experienced with these sorts of cases because we have helped many other people, just like you. Don’t hesitate to contact our firm with your case right away.

Contact Foley Griffin at (888) 966-8480 to schedule your free and confidential consultation with our Nassau County criminal defense attorneys.

Categories